Visa wants to track your smartphone to prevent credit card fraud

Gigaom

In two weeks I’m flying to Barcelona to attend Mobile World Congress, and as I have in every previous year I’ve gone to this conference, I’m going to engage in an annual ritual. Before I leave, I’m going to call up my banks and tell them my itinerary. Otherwise I risk my cards getting declined when I make my first purchase off the plane.

It’s a pain but I’m happy to go through the hassle because it adds an extra layer of protection against fraud. And nothing looks more suspicious than a card being used in Spain eight hours after it was used to buy a latte in Chicago. [company]Visa[/company] on Thursday announced a new service that might mean I’ll no longer need to make that annual call.

Visa is offering location tracking to its banking partners, which will verify your location on your smartphone whenever your card is…

View original post 457 more words

This entry was posted in Brian By Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

